Daily Thought: July 22, 2018

Billy Frazier

--

I’m not perfect.

Like everyone, I have bad habits.

Most of these habits involve doing too much of something: drinking, snacking, binge-watching TV online, you know, the usual suspects.

Over the years, I’ve noticed these bad habits get worse when I lose sight of my north star.

These habits tend to creep in whenever things get hard or I’m met with a little resistance.

After all, when was the last time you decided to turn on Netflix while lost in something you cared about? It doesn’t happen that often.

I look for instant gratification whenever I feel uncertain. It’s easy, it feels good, and it dulls the pain the comes with self-doubt.

Instead of avoiding the friction, I should be asking myself two important questions:

  1. What am I doing?
  2. Why does it matter?

When do I pause long enough to consider these questions, things get a little clearer and I somehow find the willpower to push forward.

What’s your north star and why does it matter?

William Frazier is a designer, writer, founder, and productive fumbler who blogs about making ideas happen at The Imperfectionist. He’s also on Twitter.

--

--

Billy Frazier

Principal experience designer, writer, and leader who’s fumbling forward through a creative career while helping others do the same. fumblingbook.com