People Over Profits

Billy Frazier
3 min readNov 18, 2021

Back in 2014, I was ready for a change of pace.

Like many freelancers, I had been working from home and in the beginning, my home office was the ultimate lifesaver.¹After all, I didn’t have to pay rent for a separate office, waste time on a morning commute, and I could even write-off part of my lease as a tax-deductible expense.

This might sound like the dream, but eventually the lines began to blur and it became a living nightmare.

I started waking up a little later, distracting myself with Netflix a little more, and leaving my apartment a little less. When you start wearing the same pair of sweatpants and go days without seeing another human being, things can get pretty ugly.

Fortunately, one Facebook event invite changed everything.

Around this time, I stumbled across a happy hour for a new coworking center and immediately clicked “Going.”

Fast-forward a few days later and I found myself standing in front of a three story adult fun house. The jagged architecture was something straight out of an M.C. Escher painting, complete with a set of criss-crossing staircases on the inside.

Once I made my way to the third floor, I realized the crowd was fairly young, consisting of recent and future college grads. After chatting with a few people, I was shocked to…

--

--

Billy Frazier

Principal experience designer, writer, and leader who’s fumbling forward through a creative career while helping others do the same. fumblingbook.com