A scientist with yellow glasses holding up a beaker filled with orange liquid.
Credit: Pexels

Think Like A Scientist

And you will become a much better creative

Billy Frazier
3 min readSep 14, 2022

--

I used to hate science.

I’m not saying this because I’m stubborn and most of my high school science classes bored me to death, although these tidbits definitely didn’t help.

You see, before my dad retired, he was a Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics (I know, it’s a mouthful) at Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri and over one long, fateful summer, I worked in his research lab.

It was here that my fledgling love for science died a slow, agonizing death.

During this sluggish summer, I spent countless hours cleaning pipettes, running test tubes through the centrifuge, and hoarding dry ice to conduct my own “experiments” with friends.

As mind-numbing as it was, I did happen to walk away with one invaluable piece of life experience.

Most of us vaguely remember stumbling across the scientific method in middle school science class as we futzed around with pea plants.

You remember that step-by-step process, right? We were expected to raise a question/make an observation, research the topic, establish a hypothesis, test it with an experiment, analyze the data, and then finally report our conclusion.

--

--

Billy Frazier

Principal experience designer, writer, and leader who’s fumbling forward through a creative career while helping others do the same. fumblingbook.com